30 days of yoga – FREE online yoga course

I’m super excited to be working with Yoga Australia to bring you a 30 day, free online yoga course.  The course begins 21st June to celebrate international day of yoga and is a holistic approach to yoga encompassing mind, body and spirit.

Over the 30 days we will explore the 8 limbs of yoga and will cover asanas (yoga postures), pranayama (breath control), meditation, relaxation, mindfulness and yogic philosophy.

The course will help you to develop a regular yoga practice or deepen your existing practice and motivate and inspire you.

The 8 limbs of yoga are a systematised, 8 fold path which provide a framework for how to live a more meaningful and spiritual life.  The 8 limbs of yoga include:

1.  Yamas – Ethics and morals and how we relate to others.

There are 5 Yamas:

  •  Ahimsa: Non violence and non harming
  • Satya:  Truthfulness
  • Asteya:  Non stealing
  • Bramacharya:  Moderation
  • Aparigraha:  Non  possessiveness or non  greed/hoarding

2.  Niyamas – Self discipline and personal behaviour

There are 5 Niyamas:

  •  Saucha:  Purity
  • Santosha:  Contentment
  • Tapas:  Discipline
  • Svadhyaya:  Self study
  • Isvara Pranidhana:  Celebration of the spiritual

3.  Asana – The practice of the physical yoga postures

4.  Pranayama – Breath control and regulation

5.  Pratyahara – Withdrawal of the senses

6.  Dharana – The practice of developing concentration and focus

7.  Dhyana – The practice of meditation

8.  Samadhi – A state of bliss or oneness

You can register for 30 days of yoga via the Yoga Australia website here I look forward to sharing the journey with you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *